Past ASM Peggy Cotter Travel Award Winners

The ASM Peggy Cotter Travel Award Program for Early Career Branch Members provides funds for outstanding early career DC Branch members to attend ASM Microbe.

2019 Recipients

Devrim Kaya, Ph.D.


The University of Maryland College Park Department of Civil and Enviornmental Engineering

 ASM Microbe 2019 Presentations:

  • Effect of Fixed Nitrogen Limitation on Reductive Dechlorination Activity of Dehalococcoides mccartyi (2019-A-6150-MICROBE)

  • Efficacy of Biofilm Covered Activated Carbon Particles on the Enhancement of PCB Dechlorination (2019-A-6149-MICROBE)

  • Microbial Reductive Dechlorination of PCBs in Sludge (2019-A-6147-MICROBE)

  • Bioremediation of Baltimore Harbor Sediments Contaminated with PCBs (2019-A-6135-MICROBE)


S. Stephanie Garcia-Buntley, Ph.D

Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Uniformed Services University

ASM Microbe 2019 Presentation:
Inosine-5’-monophosphate Dehydrogenase Inhibitors Halt Cell Division and Exhibit Bactericidal Effects in Borrelia Burgdorferi


Kathleen D. Cusick Ph.D

Assistant Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Maryland Baltimore County 

ASM Microbe 2019 Presentation:
Novel Mechanisms of Copper Tolerance in the Marine Bacterium Alteromonas macleodii



© 2020 by ASM Washington D.C. Branch

Bacteria and viruses by DragonArtz - used under CC BY. Recolored from original.